top of page

GPRS Garage alarm tutorial log# 1

As this blogpost name says this is the first log of a new cool project I am starting!!

Next month I will go to Cameroon 🇨🇲 for professional reasons so I will be out for 6 weeks and my garage that is independent from my house is not equipped with an alarm and I heard the neighborhood telling that there are more and more cases of stealing in gardens and garages. So let's secure mine before to go in business trip! 

The purpose:


Basicly I need to detect an intrusion in the garage so an IR motion detector will do that job.


Then I need to transmit this information to my family that will keep an eye on my house. As I still not have internet connectivity at home the easiest way to do that is cellular communication.


It is necessary to design a way to turn on and off the detection in order to avoid sending an alert each time someone of my family will enter this room. A simple hidden interuptor will do that job.

Because I have not too much time I will avoid to waste time by waiting ordered pieces so I will do it with only parts I already have.

BOM:


Original Arduino due (my first one!!)


GPRS shield from Cooking-Hacks


Cheap PIR motion sensor from eBay 


An operational SIM card 


A Power supply


IP65 junction box


An interuptor 

Stay tuned for the next logs ;) 

Joel Melo -
Electrical Engineer, Arduino, IoT and DiY projects enthousiast
Par tags
Pas encore de mots-clés.
bottom of page